There Are Four Time Zones In Mexico

Baja California [North] (Zona Noroeste)

The northeastern-most time zone begins in the northern reaches of Baja California (the northern area of the peninsula). This area adheres to Pacific Time (same as Los Angeles, CA) and is therefore one hour behind Mountain Time (e.g. Los Cabos, Mazatlan) and two hours behind Mexico City. The official name for this time zone is Zona Noroeste.

Mexico’s Pacific Time Zone (Zona Pacifico)

This time zone begins in Guayabitos, north of Puerto Vallarta (Vallarta and environs are not affected). It affects all areas along the coast north of here including the states of Nayarit, Sinaloa, Sonora, Chihuahua, and all of Baja California Sur, including the popular areas of Los Cabos, La Paz, Loreto and Todos Santos. Zona Pacifico is aligned with US Mountain Time (same as Denver, CO); one hour behind Mexico City. Note that Chihuahua City is not affected by this time zone change as it is too far east. The official name for this time zone is Zona Pacifico.

Mexico’s Central Time Zone (Zona Centro)

Most of Mexico including Mexico City, Monterrey, Guadalajara, and Merida, adheres to ‘Central Time’ in the USA (same as Dallas, TX). The official name for this time zone is Zona Centro.

Mexico’s Southeastern Time Zone (Zona Sureste)

On February 1, 2015 Mexico created this time zone, which affects only the state of Quintana Roo—home to the country’s most popular vacation resort towns including Cancun, Playa del Carmen, Tulum and the islands of Isla Mujeres and Cozumel. It’s aligned with US Eastern Standard Time and does not move its clocks backward or forward each year, so its clock time is aligned for part of the year with the US ET, but leaves that alignment by an hour when the US moves its clocks forward (the alignment returns in the autumn when the US moves it clocks back again).  The official name for this time zone is Zona Sureste.

Leave a Review

Leave a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *